MLIR Linalg Dialect 以及 Patterns

2022-09-01
11分钟阅读时长

之前的文章介绍了 Vector dialect 及其相关 pattern。 今天我们来看一下上层的 Linalg dialect 以及相关的变换。

问题空间

机器学习,尤其是深度学习,有着非常规整的计算模式。模型内部通常是一些基础模块的重复堆叠。

这些基础模块中有很多算子用于计算,比如矩阵乘 (matmul) 或者卷积 (convolution)。 这两者的朴素定义都是内含乘加 (multiply-accumulation) 运算的完美嵌套循环 (perfect loop nest), 它们本质上都是规约 (reduction) 的一种。 模型中也常见更简单直接的规约,比如计算一个张量中的最大最小或者平均值。 除规约外,另一类结构更好更轻量易处理的计算算子是逐元素算子 (elementwise operation)。

计算只是产生张量的一种方式。模型中也会有像是 broadcast、转置 (transpose)、concatenate 等等纯粹的数据搬移算子。 这些算子对张量元素的搬移方式符合仿射变换 (affine transformations)。 当然,在某些模型中我们也会看见更复杂的数据搬移方式,比如 gather、scatter、topK 等等。 这些算子对张量元素的搬移不符合仿射变换,更“不规则”,也更加难以处理。

我们知道通用可编程 CPU 和 GPU 采用的都是 tiled-based 架构,它们通过多级的内存缓存系统来给 SIMD/SIMT 计算单元提供数据。 不过即便多层次,访存速度总体上也远慢于计算单元,所以我们需要提高数据的利用率来提高每秒钟能够实际执行的指令数。 要高效地利用硬件,我们需对原问题进行分块 (tile) 以产生更小规模的子问题,并分配 (distribute) 给不同的计算单元。 同时我们需要尽可能多地利用近处的高速缓存来达到高比例的数据复用。

基于以上硬件考虑,对代码生成而言,之前所述的每类机器学习算子本质上都是一个不同的问题。 比如,方形 (sqaure) 矩阵乘从定义上需要进行 N2 次访存和 N3 次乘加运算, 所以理论上我们可以重用每次访存 N 次。 同理,卷积从理论定义上可以提供更高的数据利用率。 即便是映射到硬件上时我们没办法把所有的数据都加载在离计算单元最近的高速缓存,也就没办法达理论上的复用率,矩阵乘和卷积相对而言依然比较容易达到比较高的每秒运算量。 另一方面,逐元素算子从定义上就没有数据复用,单独计算的话,它们总是受限于访存带宽 (memory bound)。 不过,逐元素算子因为一对一映射这一优美特性,可以灵活地融合 (fuse) 到矩阵乘或者卷积的计算过程中,从而避免额外代价。 规约因为涉及数据交换,则是更加具有挑战性的问题,尤其是对具有大量并行计算单元的 GPU 而言。

总而言之,代码生成的策略依类别而变。 不过,我们也不希望为每种不同的算子和目标硬件写一个不同的编译器,因为那样会给软件栈带来太高的复杂度。 我们希望能够用统一的流程来处理一大类具有共同特性的问题。 当然,一般化也不能进行的太过于彻底。 如果我们把所有的问题都统一用同一个代码生成流程来解决,那么我们必须放弃任何本来可以直接利用的特异性的假设, 在流程中重新证明所有的性质。我们能使用的也将是最通用的方式,造成代码分析 (analysis) 和变换 (transformation) 的保守和低效。 编译器的设计中充满了各种现实折中。

上面所述折中就反应在 Linalg dialect 中。 Linalg dialect 试图在 IR 通用性和变换的简洁有效之间取得平衡。 它着眼于处理具有完美嵌套循环和通过仿射变换引用数据元素的问题,提供分块、融合以及向量化等工具。

这已经覆盖了像矩阵乘、卷积、规约等计算算子以及像 broadcast、转置等数据搬移算子,解决了一大部分机器学习算子的代码生成问题。 像是 gather、scatter 等算子从设计上就被排除在外,因为要想支持这些算子,我们需要在假设上做出很大的让步, 放弃完美嵌套循环以及仿射变换,以及由此可以使用的像是 affine composition 以及 back slice analysis 等强力工具。 整个编译流程也会更加复杂化。

介绍了足够多的问题空间,接下让我们来具体看一下 Linalg dialect 的设计考虑。

设计考虑

定位

Linalg dialect 是 MLIR 渐进式 (progressive) 代码生成的重要抽象之一。 更新一下之前博客文章中的流程图并加粗 Linalg dialect 相关的步骤:

MLIR Linalg Dialect in CodeGen Flow

上图中每一层都有其存在意图:

  • 在最顶层,TF、TFLite、以及 Torch 等 dialect 用于机器学习框架的接入; MHLO 和 TOSA dialect 则将来自各种框架的五花八门的算子集 (op set) 收缩整合, 转化成统一的表示,作为下层 MLIR 代码生成栈的输入程序。
  • 之前的文章中详述了 Vector dialect。 这一层的目的是将小规模子问题进一步分解并映射到硬件寄存器和原生向量指令。
  • Memref dialect 这一层主要是用来做内存规划和读写。这一层的位置比较灵活, 既可以在转换成向量抽象之前,也可以在其之后。
  • 最底层有 llvm 以及 spirv dialect,转换到这一层是为调用 LLVM 编译器栈做进一步的更底层的代码生成,或者产生最终的程序 SPIR-V 二进制表示。

Linalg dialect 实际上是 MLIR 结构化代码生成的入口抽象。 在其之前的 dialect 的目的是表达原机器学习程序,从 Linalg dialect 开始,我们不断进行变换来逐步贴合目标硬件。 这些变换包括分块、融合、分配、以及向量化。 它们统一的目标是对原问题进行划分并分配到不同的计算单元,之后把小规模的子问题交由 Vector dialect 来执行下一步代码生成。

Op 结构与类别

Linalg dialect 的文档对 Linalg op 的结构有宏观概述,非常值得一读。 在此我不再赘述文档中已有的内容,只是做一个小结,以便进一步讨论。

Linalg op 既可以接受张量也可以接受 buffer。 总体上有两类 Linalg op—结构化的与非结构化的。非结构化的 op 只有像是 linalg.index 以及 linalg.yield 等少量几个。 它们是辅助性的 op,每个都不太一样。

包括linalg.matmullinalg.conv_*linalg.generic等大量的 Linalg op 是结构化的。 其中,linalg.generic 是最核心的 op; 其他的 op 被称为 named ops,只是某个 linalg.generic 特例的语法糖 (syntax sugar) 而已。 结构化的 Linalg op 都实现了 LinalgOp interface, 并如文档所述具有统一的 IR 结构:

  • 每个 op 本身都隐含完美嵌套循环,每个循环都有显式定义的 iterator 类型 (parallel、reduction 等)。
  • 如果操作的是张量,那么每个 op 结果在输入中都有对应的输出操作数 (output operand),用以提供计算该结果的初始值。 如果操作的是 buffer,那么 op 没有结果,输出操作数就是直接可读可写的。1
  • 每个输入输出操作数 (input/output operand) 都有一个相关的访问映射 (indexing map),这个映射指定了在隐式嵌套循环中如何访问该操作数的元素。 隐式嵌套循环的循环空间 (iteration space) 完全由 Linalg op 的操作数来决定。
  • Linalg op 的具体计算由一个 region 来定义,提供了极大的灵活性。

以上特性极大地简化了 Linalg 层的变换。 通常我们只需要写一个针对 LinalgOp interface 的 pattern 来统一的处理所有结构化的 Linalg op。 隐式嵌套循环意味着我们可以避免复杂的嵌套循环的分析以及变换。

如前所述,Linalg dialect 在设计上只想解决具有完美嵌套循环和仿射元素引用的问题。 其他的算子需要另外的流程。 在 IREE 中,我们有 LinalgExt dialect 来试验性支持像是 gatherscatterscantopkfft 等算子。 当被证明可行后,这些 op 会被逐渐合并到上游更适合的地方。 比如,现在我们在 Tensor dialect 里面有 tensor.gathertensor.scatter op。

变换

Linalg dialect 在定义 op 的时候就考虑到和变换的协同。 通过有意地限制目标问题空间,我们可以做一些特殊假设并利用一些由此衍生的简洁高效的分析和变换。

实际上在 MLIR 中,整个结构化代码生成都遵循这种协同设计 op 语义以及变换的范式—通过在 op 语义中引入结构并保证某些特性,来达到简化分析和变换的目的。

Linalg 层重要的变换有分块、融合、分配、向量化、以及转换到循环。

分块 (Tiling)

分块将大规模的问题切分成小规模的,对现代的具有多计算单元的 CPU 和 GPU 而言是非常重要的变换。 我们可以进行多层次分块以便贴合目标硬件的计算体系。 分块的另一个作用是将动态的问题变成静态的,从而能够进一步进行 Vector 层的变换。

尽管我们一般用 Linalg op 进行分块,分块却并不只局限于 Linalg op。 在 MLIR 中,分块的变换正在转换成通过 TilingInterface 来实现。 这一改动允许我们用同一手段来对其它 dialect 中的 op 进行分块。 例如,IREE 中的 LinalgExt dialect op 就实现了这一 interface。 这里是 Linalg op 的 TilingInterface 实现。

分块会产生显示的嵌套循环。 TilingInterface 本身只提供了相应 op 如何分块的相关信息,产生显示循环另一方面需要具体的循环 op。 这里我们同样可以有不同的选择,像是 scf.for (这里有其对应的代码)。

分块之后的代码值得讨论一下。对如下 linalg.matmul

func.func @matmul(%lhs : tensor<?x?xf32>, %rhs : tensor<?x?xf32>,
                  %init : tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32> {
  %0 = linalg.matmul
         ins(%lhs, %rhs : tensor<?x?xf32>, tensor<?x?xf32>)
         outs(%init : tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32>
  return %0 : tensor<?x?xf32>
}

用 (M, N) = (10, 20) 的大小进行分块:

func.func @matmul(%lhs: tensor<?x?xf32>, %rhs: tensor<?x?xf32>,
                  %init: tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32> {
  %c0 = arith.constant 0 : index
  %c1 = arith.constant 1 : index
  %c10 = arith.constant 10 : index
  %c20 = arith.constant 20 : index
  %0 = tensor.dim %lhs, %c0 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  %1 = tensor.dim %lhs, %c1 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  %2 = tensor.dim %rhs, %c1 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  %3 = scf.for %arg3 = %c0 to %0 step %c10 iter_args(%arg4 = %init) -> (tensor<?x?xf32>) {
    %4 = affine.min affine_map<(d0)[s0, s1] -> (20, -d0 + s1)>(%arg3)[%c10, %0]
    %5 = scf.for %arg5 = %c0 to %2 step %c20 iter_args(%arg6 = %arg4) -> (tensor<?x?xf32>) {
      %6 = affine.min affine_map<(d0)[s0, s1] -> (30, -d0 + s1)>(%arg5)[%c20, %2]
      %7 = tensor.extract_slice %lhs[%arg3, 0] [%4, %1] [1, 1]...
      %8 = tensor.extract_slice %rhs[0, %arg5] [%1, %6] [1, 1]...
      %9 = tensor.extract_slice %arg6[%arg3, %arg5] [%4, %6] [1, 1]...
      %10 = linalg.matmul
              ins(%7, %8 : tensor<?x?xf32>, tensor<?x?xf32>)
              outs(%9 : tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32>
      %11 = tensor.insert_slice %10 into %arg6[%arg3, %arg5] [%4, %6] [1, 1]...
      scf.yield %11 : tensor<?x?xf32>
    }
    scf.yield %5 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  }
  return %3 : tensor<?x?xf32>
}

上面有显式的 scf.for 嵌套循环产生,循环的步长 (step) 与我们指定的 MN 的分块大小一致。 在嵌套层循环之内就是一个小分块。 tensor.extract_slice op 定义了原输入张量的哪一切片 (slice) 会被当前小分块读取, tensor.insert_slice op 则定义了原输出张量的哪一切片会被当前小分块写入。 affine.min op 则计算每个切片的尺寸边界。 值得指出的部分:

首先,tensor.extract_slicetensor.insert_slice op 定义了当前小块的输入和输出切片。 它们依然维持着原始的维度 (dimensionality)—每个 op 都记录一个二维的 (offset, size, stride) tuple。 tensor.*_slice op 的这种语义简化了逐层获取原问题的分块—所需的只是对 (offset, size, stride) tuple 的简单变换。 分块产生了显式的嵌套循环,我们将面对更多的细节,回到原始问题不再简单,所以这是一种递降 (lowering)。 不过 tensor.*_slice op 本身也是试图尽最大可能保持高层语义而不过早递降的一种展现。

其次,在循环内部我们有着相同的 linalg.matmul 问题,只是规模更小。 如果我们想再次分块,只需要重新调用同一变换。

再次,现在我们需要一系列 op 组合在一起来表示完整的分块后的语义—嵌套循环、tensor.*_slice op、以及内层的 linalg op。 这种结构比较脆弱难维持。像是针对单一 op 的看起来人畜无害的 canonicalization pattern 等 IR 变换可能会对其造成破坏。 (bufferization 需要维持上述的结构,所以 bufferization 现在就有这种问题。) 这一问题其实也是我们为何会有结构化的 Linalg op 以及想把结构内化在 op 语义中的原因。 这里我们需要进一步的工作来改进。

最后,tensor.*_slice op 可以用来描述将数据加载到更近更快的缓存层次中。

融合 (Fusion)

如前所述,tensor.*_slice op 定义了分块所用的输入输出切片。 融合只是在此基础上再进一步—对于分块,嵌套循环中只引入了消费者 op 的输入切片; 若是融合,我们则进一步将生产者 op 以及其相关输入切片引入。

在 Linalg op 中我们通过访问映射来指定对于每个输入输出操作数的仿射引用关系, 而隐式嵌套循环的循环空间则完全由操作数的 shape 来确定。 (比如对 linalg.matmul 的 A 矩阵我们有 affine_map<(m, n, k) -> (m, k)>, 如果我们知道 A 矩阵的 shape 是 8x16,那么对应于 MK 的循环的尺寸自然就可以推导为 8 和 16。) 计算生产者 op 的输入切片只是对生产者和消费者 op 的仿射变换进行 compose 运算,并对每个维度单独推导出其 offset 和 size。 对是 permutation 的生产者访问映射,这种组合运算可以通过 inverse(producerIndexingMap).compose(consumerIndexingMap) 来实现。 这就是逐元素算子融合的方式。 如果是通过 TilingInterface,实现则是通过 makeTiledShapes 这一辅助函数。 此处赘述,具体可以看 scf.for 完整的分块与融合过程

分配 (Distribution)

分配把划分好的分块指定给不同的计算单元。 这对 GPU 而言尤其重要,因为我们需要利用所有的同构 workgroup 和 workitem 来并行计算。

当前进行分配的方式是在分块的同时给出用以获取 processsor ID 和 count 的 SSA value。 如此生成的嵌套循环就会使用它们作为循环的下界以及步长参数:

%idy   = gpu.thread_id y
%dimy  = gpu.block_dim y
%lby   = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%idy, %c4]
%stepy = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%dimy, %c4]
scf.for %ivy = %lby to %c8 step %stepy {
  %idx   = gpu.thread_id  x
  %dimx  = gpu.block_dim  x
  %lbx   = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%idx, %c4]
  %stepx = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%dimx, %c4]
  scf.for %arg3 = %lbx to %c32 step %stepx {
    ...
  }
}

不过上面的方式面临一个问题。 对 memref 分块的分配这是可行的。Buffer 允许针对单个元素的读写,我们可以对整个 memre 进行并行的读写。 对 tensor 分块,语义就不再明确了。无论何种维度与 shape 的张量都是一个不可分的整体。 张量不支持部分读写;哪怕是改动一个元素也会产生一个全新的和原张量具有相同 shape 的张量。 利用 tensor.insert_slice 对张量的并行读写并没有良好的语义支持。 这一问题在 bufferization 将张量变为 buffer 之后会被“解决”,不过我们在张量这一层依然面临着这一语义问题。 所以我们看到上游引入了 scf.foreach_thread op,通过其 region 中的 scf.foreach_thread.perform_concurrentlytensor.parallel_insert_slice 来给出一种答案。

向量化 (Vectorization)

向量化是 Linalg 层递降过程中的最后一步,起到了桥接 Vector 层的作用。 MLIR 中的向量化并非将标量程序转换成向量程序来提高并行性; 其基本是机械地转换到与张量有着同样 shape 的向量以及相关的 op,之后在利用 Vector 层的变换产生低维的向量。 此处不在赘述,具体可以参见我之前写的文章

转换到循环

转换到循环可以提供一种备用的递降途径和参考实现,在有的时候还是非常有用的。 因为 Linalg op 本身只是隐式的嵌套循环,转换成循环非常简单,只需要创建显示的循环 op,并 inline region 中的内容。

结语

Linalg dialect 在 MLIR 中充当了试验田的角色。 很多新的代码生成技术都是在 Linalg dialect 中试验,成熟之后才挪到合适的 dialect 或者文件目录。 所以 Linalg dialect 演进和变动的很快。 经过多年的发展演进,Linalg dialect 已经是 MLIR 渐进式以及结构化代码生成的重要一环。 希望本文能够对理解其设计和重要变换能够提供一些帮助。


  1. 这一特性让我们可以统一对张量和 buffer 的 IR 表示。更重要的是可以使得 bufferization 简单化。 我们可以通过分析输出操作数和结果的绑定关系来重用 buffer,从而避免过度的拷贝。 ↩︎

MLIR Linalg Dialect and Patterns

2022-08-31
13 min read

I explained the Vector dialect and related patterns in the previous blog post. In this one let us look at a layer higher and talk about the Linalg dialect and transformations around it.

Problem Space

Machine learning (ML), especially deep learning, actually brings workloads with quite regular patterns. The whole ML model is typically repeating certain known-good basic blocks, optionally in a nested fashion.

The primitive operations in those basic blocks include dense computation like matrix multiplication (matmul) or convolution, which, in their plain definition, are perfect loop nests over multiply-accumulation (MAC). Given the internal MAC operation, matmul and convolution are just a form of reduction. It’s also common to see direct reductions to find the maximal/minimal/average values of a tensor. Aside from reduction, another category of computation, which is more “lightweight”, is elementwise operations. They are even more well formed and easy to handle.

Computation is one way to produce tensors in ML model dataflow; we can also see pure data shuffling operations. Examples are broadcast, transpose, concatenate, which in essence are performing affine transformations over data element indexing. More sophisticated data shuffling operations include gather, scatter, topK, and others. These operations involve non-affine mapping over data element indexing, and are more “irregular” and difficult to handle.

We know that generally programmable CPUs/GPUs adopt tiled-based architectures, and have different levels of memory/cache hierarchies to feed data into SIMD/SIMT compute units. Even with the memory/cache hierarchy, data access is still much slower than compute; so we need to increase data reuse to achieve higher ops per second in reality. To best utilize the hardware, we need to tile the problem and distribute the workload to different computation units, and maintain a high data reuse rate in faster memory/cache level.

With the above in mind, each of the previous ML operation categories is essentially a different problem for code generation (CodeGen). For example, square matmul by definition is performing N2 data element access and N3 MAC; so we reuse a memory access N times. Convolution offers even higher reuse intrinsically. They are inherently easier to achieve high ops per second. On the other hand, there is no data reuse in elementwise operations; if done alone, they are always memory bound. However, given the great 1:1 mapping nature of elementwise operations, we typically fuse them with matmul or convolution to compute “for free”. Pure reduction is an even more challenging problem, especially for massively parallel GPUs, which would require dedicated approaches.

In general, it’s clear that for different categories, we need to have different strategies. Though we don’t necessarily want to write a separate compiler flow for each different ML operations and target architecture, for software complexity management concerns. We would like to unify certain problems of similar characteristics into one flow. However, we cannot go too far down this route—if we unify everything into the same flow, it would mean we can assume nothing and must do everything in the most general sense, which would make analyses and transformations extremely hard and conservative. So, practical trade-offs in the design.

That’s effectively what the Linalg dialect is trying to achieve. The Linalg dialect tries to strike a balance between the IR generality and transform simplicity/effectiveness. It focuses on addressing the problems with perfect loop nest and affine element indexing, by providing powerful tiling, fusion, and vectorization mechanisms.

This covers the CodeGen needs for compute ops like matmul/convolution/reduction, and data shuffling ops like broadcast/transpose. This is already a large portion of ML ops. It leaves problems like gather/scatter/etc. aside on purpose, because accommodating those would mean relaxing a lot on the assumptions (that is, perfect loop nest and affine element indexing) and thus forgoing some very powerful mechanisms (e.g., affine composition, back slice analysis) and bringing more complexities into the compiler.

Enough about the rationale. Now let’s move on to the design considerations.

Design Considerations

Positioning

The Linalg dialect presents one of the core abstractions for progressive MLIR CodeGen in ML compilers. Showing the CodeGen hierarchy introduced previously again and highlighting the Linalg layer:

MLIR Linalg Dialect in CodeGen Flow

Each layer in the above flow serves its own purpose:

  • At the top level, dialects like TF, TFLite, and Torch are meant for ML framework integration; and dialects like MHLo and TOSA are meant for consolidating flexible framework op sets into (stable) input ML programs.
  • The Vector dialect, which I discussed in the previous blog post, aims to compile a tile of the original problem to a single compute unit, by mapping to hardware registers and native vector compute instructions.
  • Dialects like MemRef are for handling memory planning and concrete data accesses. Its position in the flow is relatively flexible as it can happen either before or after the vector abstractions.
  • At the bottom of the stack is dialects like LLVM or SPIR-V to exit the MLIR system for even lower level CodeGen and/or final program serialization.

The Linalg dialect is actually the entry layer for structured MLIR CodeGen—dialects before it are for ML program representation; from Linalg, we start to perform transformations to gradually fit hardware targets.

These transformations include tiling, fusion, distribution, and vectorization. Their collective goals are to divide the original problem and assign them to different compute units, and later handle the inner tile to the Vector dialect for further CodeGen aiming at a single compute unit.

Op structure and categories

The Linalg dialect’s documentation provides high-level description of Linalg op structure and categories, in addition to detailed semantics for each op. It’s highly worth a read. I won’t elaborate what’s explained there, just a quick summary to lay down the foundation for further discussion.

Linalg ops can operate both on tensors and buffers. In general, there are two categories of Linalg ops—structured ones and non-structured ones. There are very few non-structured Linalg ops, e.g., linalg.index, linalg.yield. They are auxiliary; each one is distinct.

The majority Linalg ops are structured ones, including linalg.matmul, linalg.conv_*, linalg.generic and other compute ops. Among them, linalg.generic is really the core op; other ops are called named ops and are effectively syntax sugar over a certain instance of linalg.generic ops. They all implement the LinalgOp interface and have uniform representations as described in the documentation:

  • Each op itself is an implicit perfect loop nest, where each loop has an explicitly defined iterator type (parallel/reduction/etc.).
  • If with tensor semantics, each op result has an associated output operand, providing the initial value of the output. If with buffer semantics, Linalg ops don’t have results; the output operand would be directly read-writable buffers.1
  • Each input/output operand has an associated indexing map from the implicit loop nest to the operand’s tensor/buffer, specifying how the operand’s elements are accessed. The loop nest’s iteration space is fully derived from the op’s operands.
  • The computation done is specified as a region, which allows great flexibility.

The above characteristics greatly simplify transformations over Linalg ops. Often we just need to write one single pattern to target the LinalgOp interface. Implicit loop nests mean we can typically avoid analyzing and transforming loop nests.

As said in the Problem Space section, the Linalg dialect purposefully only represents ML ops which by definition are perfect loop nests with affine element indexing. Ops not fitting this pattern would need their own special flows. In IREE we have the LinalgExt dialect to experiment modeling those ops (including gather, scatter, scan, topk, fft, etc.). They are gradually upstreamed and placed in more suitable holding dialects, e.g., now we have tensor.gather/tensor.scatter ops in upstream MLIR codebase.

Transformations

The Linalg ops are designed from the beginning to facilitate transformations. By purposefully restricting the problems to address, we can make assumptions that lead to powerful analysis and transformations.

Actually the whole structured CodeGen paradigm in MLIR, where the Linalg dialect is a core component of it, prefers this kind of co-designing op semantics and transformations and let ops structurally encode and guarantee certain properties to simplify analyses and transformations.

Important transformations happening at the Linalg level include tiling, fusion, distribution, vectorization, and lowering into plain loops.

Tiling

Tiling is the process of dividing the original problem into smaller ones. It is a key step to map the original problem into multiple compute units, which are common nowadays for CPUs/GPUs. Tiling can happen multiple times, depending on the compute hierarchy of the hardware target. With tiling, we can also turn a dynamic shaped problem into a static one, with a static tile size. This is important to enable further Vector level transformations.

Although we typically perform tiling at the Linalg level, it’s not fundamentally limited to Linalg ops. So in MLIR, tiling is moving to an interface, unsurprisingly, the TilingInterface, to allow dividing other dialects' ops to map to compute hierarchies. (Notably the ops in IREE LinalgExt dialect implements the tiling interface.) Here is Linalg ops' TilingInterface. implementation.

Tiling would materialize a loop nest. The interface just provides op-specific information about how the particular op should be tiled; we would need loop ops for the materialized loop nest. It’s pluggable here, as we can use different kinds of loop ops, e.g., scf.for ops (and here is the code connecting them together).

It’s worth discussing the IR after tiling a bit. For the following linalg.matmul:

func.func @matmul(%lhs : tensor<?x?xf32>, %rhs : tensor<?x?xf32>,
                  %init : tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32> {
  %0 = linalg.matmul
         ins(%lhs, %rhs : tensor<?x?xf32>, tensor<?x?xf32>)
         outs(%init : tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32>
  return %0 : tensor<?x?xf32>
}

Tiling with tile sizes (M, N) = (10, 20):

func.func @matmul(%lhs: tensor<?x?xf32>, %rhs: tensor<?x?xf32>,
                  %init: tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32> {
  %c0 = arith.constant 0 : index
  %c1 = arith.constant 1 : index
  %c10 = arith.constant 10 : index
  %c20 = arith.constant 20 : index
  %0 = tensor.dim %lhs, %c0 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  %1 = tensor.dim %lhs, %c1 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  %2 = tensor.dim %rhs, %c1 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  %3 = scf.for %arg3 = %c0 to %0 step %c10 iter_args(%arg4 = %init) -> (tensor<?x?xf32>) {
    %4 = affine.min affine_map<(d0)[s0, s1] -> (20, -d0 + s1)>(%arg3)[%c10, %0]
    %5 = scf.for %arg5 = %c0 to %2 step %c20 iter_args(%arg6 = %arg4) -> (tensor<?x?xf32>) {
      %6 = affine.min affine_map<(d0)[s0, s1] -> (30, -d0 + s1)>(%arg5)[%c20, %2]
      %7 = tensor.extract_slice %lhs[%arg3, 0] [%4, %1] [1, 1]...
      %8 = tensor.extract_slice %rhs[0, %arg5] [%1, %6] [1, 1]...
      %9 = tensor.extract_slice %arg6[%arg3, %arg5] [%4, %6] [1, 1]...
      %10 = linalg.matmul
              ins(%7, %8 : tensor<?x?xf32>, tensor<?x?xf32>)
              outs(%9 : tensor<?x?xf32>) -> tensor<?x?xf32>
      %11 = tensor.insert_slice %10 into %arg6[%arg3, %arg5] [%4, %6] [1, 1]...
      scf.yield %11 : tensor<?x?xf32>
    }
    scf.yield %5 : tensor<?x?xf32>
  }
  return %3 : tensor<?x?xf32>
}

We have a materialized scf.for loop nest, with steps equal to the tile sizes we have specified for matmul M and N dimensions. In the innermost loop representing the current tile, tensor.extract_slice ops define the original input tensors' slices that the current tile will read, while the tensor.insert_slice op defines the output tensor’s slice that the current tile will write. affine.min ops are generated to compute the size bounds for each tile.

There are a few aspects worth calling out:

Firstly, tensor.extract_slice and tensor.insert_slice defines the input and output slices for the tile. They still maintain the original dimensionality and capture a 2-D (offset, size, stride) tuple. Such semantics of tensor.*_slice ops makes it very straightforward to get a tile of the original problem and compose further later. Tiling itself generates loop nests so we face more details and it is harder to go back to the original form; this is a form of lowering. However, the tensor.*_slice ops are also an instance of retaining high-level information as much as possible and not prematurely lower (and linearize the indexing).

Secondly, we have the same problem, linalg.matmul, in the tiled loop nest, just on a smaller scale defined by tensor.*_slice ops. If we want to tile again, it would just mean reapplying the same transformation.

Thirdly, now we have a whole structure to represent the full tiled problem—the loo nest, the tensor.*_slice ops, and the inner linalg op. They must work together to preserve the full semantics. Such structures can be fragile and prone to breakage in IR transformations. So we face the risk of breaking it with, for example, seemingly innocent canonicalization patterns. (This is right now the case for bufferization—it requires reserving such a structure.) This problem is why we have Linalg structured ops and want to embed structures in op semantics implicitly from the beginning. More needs to be done for this case though.

Lastly, the tensor.*_slice ops can represent data movement to faster memory/cache hierarchy.

Fusion

We have seen that tensor.*_slice ops help to define the input/output slices for tiling. Fusion just goes one step further on top of that—instead of just pulling in the consumer op’s input slice into the tiled loop nest around the consumer op, we pull in the producer op and all its input slices for computing the consumed output slice.

Recall that Linalg ops uses an affine indexing map to encode the access scheme for each input/output operand, and the loop bounds are defined by operand tensor/buffer shapes. Calculating the producer input slices is just composing these affine maps and deriving offsets and sizes on each dimension separately. This can be achieved via inverse(producerIndexingMap).compose(consumerIndexingMap) for permutation producer indexing maps, and elementwise op fusion uses this approach. If via the TilingInterface, the implementation is different and goes through the makeTiledShapes utility. I won’t expand on this; you can see the full scf.for tiling and fusion procedure here.

Distribution

Distribution is the process of assigning different tiles to different compute units. It is particularly important for GPUs, where we need to utilize all those workgroups and workitems for parallelism.

The current commonly used approach to perform distribution is providing the processor ID and count SSA values when tiling (and fusion). Then for the materialized loop nest, we update the loop ranges using those processor ID and count SSA values.

%idy   = gpu.thread_id y
%dimy  = gpu.block_dim y
%lby   = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%idy, %c4]
%stepy = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%dimy, %c4]
scf.for %ivy = %lby to %c8 step %stepy {
  %idx   = gpu.thread_id  x
  %dimx  = gpu.block_dim  x
  %lbx   = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%idx, %c4]
  %stepx = affine.apply affine_map<()[s0, s1] -> (s0 * s1)>()[%dimx, %c4]
  scf.for %arg3 = %lbx to %c32 step %stepx {
    ...
  }
}

Though the above faces an issue. It’s well defined if we distribute memref tiles—buffers allow read/write to individual elements, so we can perform concurrent updates to the whole memref. For tensor tiles, it becomes difficult—a tensor, regardless of the dimensionality and shape, is an integrated single value. There is no partial update semantics; touching even a single element would generate a whole new tensor of the input shape. Therefore, the concurrent updates via tensor.insert_slice ops is not well defined. This problem sort of gets “resolved” after we bufferize those tensors, but still, at the tensor level, we have such a semantic gap. So we see upstream experimenting moving to use the new scf.foreach_thread op. In its region, we leverage scf.foreach_thread.perform_concurrently and tensor.parallel_insert_slice to address the issue.

Vectorization

Vectorization is the last step in the Linalg lowering flow. It bridges the Linalg layer and Vector layer. In MLIR, vectorization is not trying to find parallelism by turning scalar computation into vector; it’s basically mechanically generating vector ops of the same shape, and then later do in-dialect lowering to convert those high-dimension vectors into low-dimension native ones. I’ve written about this in the previous blog post, so I won’t repeat it again here.

Lowering to loops

Converting to plain loops gives us a fallback lowering path and reference implementation for Linalg ops. It can be quite helpful in certain cases. Given that Linalg ops are just an implicit loop nest, lowering to loops is trivial. We just need to materialize the loop nest and inline the compute region.

Closing Words

The Linalg dialect presents one of the core abstractions for progressive and structured MLIR CodeGen in ML compilers. Hopefully this blog post shed some light on its design and key transformations.

The Linalg dialect is the de facto “testbed” for quite a few new CodeGen techniques, including the transform dialect. It evolves fast and can often graduate features to more suitable holding dialects and directories.


  1. So this unifies IR representation for tensors and buffers. More importantly, it makes bufferization easier—we can perform analysis and reuse buffers via the output operand and result binding in cases, which avoids excessive copies. ↩︎